This traditional style barn (“gambrel” refers to the type of roof) was constructed by the Ministry of Agriculture and Food as a bicentennial project in 1984. Today, it is used to host events and celebrations, such as weddings and tradeshows.
The Puslinch Hall was built in 1867, originally with no electric lights or furnace. It was constructed in Aberfoyle, and moved to the park in 1981.
Before the internal combustion engine was created, transportation by road was drawn by an animal powered cart or wagon. The carriage building used to contain an exhibit of sleighs, fine harness carriages, washing wagons, and a horse drawn hearse. The Carriage House is now used as a open and welcoming space for events such as weddings and corporate functions.
Otherwise known as the Clark-McCleary House. This 1830s home that was originally located in Trafalgar Township, Halton County has been transformed into an early 1900s country store exhibit.
This farmstead is thought to have been built in 1847, and was originally located in Puslinch Township, Wellington County where it served as a home for ten people. It currently depicts all aspects of a working family farm of the 1830s.
This barn was a part of the Cassin family farmstead. This farmstead is thought to have been built in 1847, and was originally located in Puslinch Township, Wellington County where it served as a home for ten people. It currently depicts all aspects of a working family farm of the 1830s.
This small church circa 1876 is an excellent example of the multitude of rural community churches that were popping up throughout Ontario in the 19th and early 20th centuries. It was originally located in Perth County Ontario, & donated to the park by Mr. & Mrs. Winger in 1978.
This traditional late nineteenth century schoolhouse (built in 1886) was originally located on Concession 6 of Nassagaweya Township in Halton Region- not too far from the park today. Visitors will get to experience what is was like in a rural school in the 1910’s. It has separate entrances for boys and girls, windows along the side, and washrooms & a woodshed at the rear.
The Ford Dealership building is modeled after what one would’ve looked like in 1928- a very big year for Henry Ford as his new line of Model A cars were launched. Later on including the Model F, Model N, Model 8N Tractor.
This building is an educational journey throughout the development of the milk sector in this province - providing a learning experience from the early settler days until today's modern process that has helped nurture a nation. It depicts all avenues of milk production - from butter to cheese processing and manufacturing.
While not native to North America, apples are abundantly commonplace in Ontario (and Canadian) culture today - and the display at Country Heritage Park highlights its very proud history, from the estimated 50 or more varieties grown around the turn of the 20th century to the efforts of such things as apple peelers and cider presses which were labour saving technologies that helped the market flourish and led to the sector it has become today.
This blacksmith shop played a very important role in the community when it was built- in the 1860s. In this time, the blacksmith made everything out of iron- including wheels for carriages and equipment. This building still contains a working forge, and all blacksmithing equipment.
This building was originally located in the Aberfoyle Fairgrounds, and was constructed in 1909. It had many purposes in the past, including: being a home, a barbershop, and a harness-making shop.
Founded in 1869 in Fergus, Ontario by John Templin. Carriage factories would have been very important in the 1800's as the buggy and wagon were the main form of transportation. This is a replica of the shop as it appeared in 1910. As technology evolved, the shop eventually because an automobile garage and then a dealership.
This building represents what a John Deere Dealership would have looked like in 1937. Mr. McDuffe moved to Milton in the 1920s and started a farm machinery company. In 1948, he started selling John Deer tractors- the type of tractors & equipment that are contained in this building today.
This 1838 hall was originally located on Concession 2 in Trafalgar Township. It was originally used as a school, then a temperance hall. It has been restored to represent a hall circa 1919-1929.
This typical Halton County barn was built in 1882. It is on site to showcase what a typical barn during that time period.
The Massey Harris Company Ltd. was established in 1891, and became the largest agricultural equipment maker in the British Empire. The park hosts a Massey Harris building that features antique tractors, stripper harvesters, plows, and other equipment they manufactured.
This beautiful 1.5 story house is estimated to have been built between 1835-1840, and it was originally located on concession 2 of Nelson Township, Halton County. The 1852 Census of the area shows that there were 14 people living in the house at the time. Come out to learn about the Lucas family’s history.
This late 19th century barn was originally located on Concession 3 of Vaughan Township, York County. It is a very unique construction, and the method used to erect it is still unknown. Today, this unique barn houses a collection of early machinery and tractors manufactured by the International Harvester Company.
A working barn with farm animals, originally built in 1931 by Benjamin Wachter after the previous barn on the property burned down.